Home » Currently Reading:

Masonic Organizations in MN

Appendant Bodies

Outside of traditional “Craft Masonry” (a.k.a. Blue Lodges) in the United States, there are a number of closely related organizations which require that one either be a Master Mason, or have some close relation to a Master Mason, in order to be considered for membership.

These bodies are commonly referred to as “Appendant Bodies”. Appendant bodies are sovereign unto themselves and have their own differing systems of governance and hierarchy. They considered by the wider community of regular Freemasonry to be Masonic organizations, both because of their requirement that members be Masons, and also because of their use of initiatory systems similar to Craft Masonry, employing ritual and moral allegories to teach philosophical lessons. Thus, they enjoy warm relations and official recognition as legitimate branches of the Masonic family tree.

The Scottish Rite:
Founded in the 17th century, in Bordeaux, France, The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry consists of 32 degrees, or lessons, taught through moral allegory in the form of live plays. The Orient of Minnesota is a part of the Southern Jurisdiction, headed by the Supreme Council in Washington, D.C.  – Minneapolis Valley Scottish Rite


The York Rite:
A.k.a. The American Rite, The York Rite takes is name from the city of York, England. The whole of the York Rite consists of 13 degrees, made up of three independent bodies; the Royal Arch Masons, the Cryptic Masons, and the Knights Templar. – York Rite Masons


The Shriners: Shriners are a brotherhood of men committed to family, engaged in ongoing personal growth, and dedicated to providing care for children and families in need. Our backgrounds and interests are diverse, but we are bound together by our shared values and a desire to have fun, do good and build relationships that can last a lifetime. – The Shriners


Grottoes of North America: The Mystic Order of Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm, is an organization by and for Master Masons. Although it is primarily an organization for good wholesome fun and frolic, it also has its serious side. Its slogan is GOOD FELLOWSHIP, and in contact with our fellowman, this principle is exemplified to a marked degree. – Selim Grotto


The Eastern Star: The members of the Order of the Eastern Star are dedicated women and men who sincerely reflect the spirit of fraternal love and the desire to work together for good. It gives them the opportunity to give a part of their time to many projects that benefit mankind. – Eastern Star


Daughters of the Nile: Daughters of the Nile is an International fraternal organization for women 18 years or older, who are related by birth or marriage to a Shriner, Master Mason, or Daughter of the Nile or is a majority member in Good Standing of a Masonic-related organization for girls. – Daughters of the Nile


DeMolay: The Order of DeMolay is an International Fraternity dedicated to developing young men into successful and responsible adults. DeMolay International is a non-profit corporation with an international office located in its own building in Kansas City, Missouri and more than 1,000 chapters worldwide. – Minnesota DeMolay


Job’s Daughters: While Job’s Daughters International is in no way a religious Order, and does not preach or encourage any particular faith; the foundation of Job’s Daughters International is based upon the Old Testament book of Job. – Job’s Daughters


Rainbow Girls: The International Order of the Rainbow for Girls is a junior organization for girls between the ages of 11 and 20, who are from Masonic, Eastern Star and Amaranth homes, as well as the friends of members of Rainbow girls.  Its purpose is to raise self-esteem and build character in its members.  It accomplishes this by teaching charity, hope, and service. Rainbow Girls


Order_of_AmaranthThe Order of the Amaranth:  The Order of the Amaranth is a fraternal organization composed of Master Masons and their properly qualified female relatives. Members are urged to portray, by precept and example, their belief in the “Golden Rule” and by conforming to the virtues inherent in TRUTH, FAITH, WISDOM and CHARITY. – The Order of the Amaranth

Scholarship Foundation

Each year, FOUR $5,000 scholarships are awarded by the Minneapolis Lodge No. 19 Scholarship Foundation to individuals pursuing undergraduate or graduate studies.

For more information visit our Scholarships Page.

scholar_hero_300” width=

Event Calendar